Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member psychocashbeast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Freeview box code for universal remote

    Anyone know what the code is for using a universal remote with the Asda Smart Price MDSV3 freeview box? Can't find anything( on the net. :

  2. #2
    Ownz Like Alex + iToni Russ@ll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    some fit girls bed
    Posts
    1,298
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    does ur remove have the auto scan option?

  3. #3
    Junior Member psychocashbeast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes but what would I set it as on the remote? TV, SAT/DSS or CBL....???

  4. #4
    Hasta la Fishsta, baby. Fishsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Lancashire, England
    Posts
    923
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 55 Times in 28 Posts
    Shouldn't matter. Those are for your benefit.

    If you're looking for a code, one thing to remember is that if it's a "cheap n nasty" TV or device, concentrate on the following manufacturers in the following order to try and find a working code:

    Philips (80% successful)
    Sony (10% successful)
    Sharp / Sanyo
    Hitachi
    Grundig

    After this list, it's a real lottery. Most cheap stuff uses the same remote codes as Philips. For example, we had a Sky remote set to Philips, this would operate most TVs by Philips, Finlux, Sanyo, Luxor, Cello and Technika. There were, of course, a few exceptions.

    My old TV, which was an Onimax, worked on the Sony codes, for example.
    Cheers,
    Fishsta
    (Updated 10th August 2012)
    ---------------------

  5. #5
    Greenie Meanie pembo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    that's some good tip there fishta

  6. #6
    Hasta la Fishsta, baby. Fishsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Lancashire, England
    Posts
    923
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 55 Times in 28 Posts
    The thing is, some manufacturers are very lazy.

    Take Sharp for example. Humax release a PVR, when that model is finished they basically sell the exact box specs and programming to Sharp who put it in a new case and sell it again.

    Therefore a 2008 Humax PVR = 2009 Sharp PVR.

    It's also the reason nearly every Freeview box uses one of about 4 "standard" freeview box software configurations.
    Cheers,
    Fishsta
    (Updated 10th August 2012)
    ---------------------

  7. #7
    Junior Member psychocashbeast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fishsta View Post
    It's also the reason nearly every Freeview box uses one of about 4 "standard" freeview box software configurations.
    Yeah think I know what you mean. I've known people to use an Alba remote for a different model of freeview box.

    Thanks for that. Will try those manufacturers' codes tomorrow.

  8. #8
    Junior Member psychocashbeast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Which other manufacturers are most popular? I've tried all those in the list and none of the codes work

  9. #9
    Hasta la Fishsta, baby. Fishsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Lancashire, England
    Posts
    923
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 55 Times in 28 Posts
    Try Vestel?
    Cheers,
    Fishsta
    (Updated 10th August 2012)
    ---------------------

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •